Chandimal is not in Sri Lanka’s World Cup squad

Newshub18:Chandimal is not in Sri Lanka’s World Cup squad.Dinesh Chandimal did not get a place in the Sri Lankan team in T20 World Cup. The Asia Cup champions today announced a 15-member squad under the leadership of Dasun Shanaka.

Chandimal was in the Asia Cup squad, but did not get a chance to play in any matches. The experienced player last played international T20 in February this yearAshen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrama, Matisha Pathirana, Nuanidu Fernando and Asita Fernando have also been dropped from the 20-man squad for the Asia Cup. Among them, Bandara, Jayawickrama, Nuanidu did not play any match.

Asita Fernando was included in the Asia Cup squad due to Binura Fernando’s injury. Played in 3 matches, took 2 wickets and contributed to the team’s victory with an unbeaten innings of 10 runs in the last over against Bangladesh. Pathirana made his debut against Afghanistan, going wicketless.

Binura Fernando has been kept as a standby in the World Cup team along with Chandimal, Bandara, Jayawickrama, Nuanidur. Among them, Bandara and Jayawickrama will go to Australia with the team, Sri Lanka Cricket said.
Dushmant Chamira and Lahiru Kumara, two pacers who could not play in the Asia Cup due to injury, have been included in the World Cup squad. But the presence of both in the team depends on their fitness.

Despite not playing a match in the Asia Cup, leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersai retained his place in the World Cup squad. Another leg spinner Wanindu Hasaranga, off spinner Mahish Tiksana is in the team as a spinner. Apart from this, Dhananjaya de Silva is also a part-time spinner.Along with Chamira and Kumara, Sri Lanka relies on Dilshan Madushanka, Chamika Karunaratne and Pramod Madushan as pacers. Madushan got a chance at the Asia Cup due to Kasun Rajita’s injury.

Sri Lanka team in T20 World Cup

Dasun Shanaka (captain), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nishanka, Kushal Mendis, Charit Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapakse, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Mahish Tiksana, Jeffrey Vandersai, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmanth Chamira (subject to fitness), Lahiru Kumara (fit). Subject to becoming), Dilshan Madushanka,Pramod Madushan.

Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrama, Dinesh Chandimal, Binura Fernando, Nuanidu Fernando.

Leave a Comment